List of Acceptable Types of Certificates


Disclaimer: This guide is for reference only. Final authority regarding acceptability of any specific certificate remains with the New York State Education Department.

If a certificate type is not listed, acceptability will be determined at the time of evaluation.

States Beginning with the Letter I

Idaho 1 Endorsed out-of-state certificate Elementary 5 Years Teacher No
1 Endorsed out-of-state certificate Secondary 5 Years Teacher No
2 Elementary 5 Years Teacher Yes
2 Secondary 5 Years Teacher Yes
Illinois 1 Provisional 2 Years Teacher No
2 Initial 4 Years Teacher Yes
2 Standard 5 Years Teacher Yes
2 Master 10 Years Teacher Yes
Indiana 1 Reciprocal 1 Year Teacher No
2 Initial Practitioner 2 Years Teacher Yes
2 Standard 5 Years Teacher Yes
3 Professional 10 Years Teacher Yes
Iowa N/A Initial License 2 Years Teacher No
N/A Standard License 5 years Teacher Yes
N/A Master Educator License 5 Years Teacher Yes
Last Updated: February 4, 2016