List of Acceptable Level Certificates

TEACH Online ServicesThis guide indicates what certificates are acceptable for the issuance of a Conditional certificate in the State of New York through Interstate Reciprocity provided the subject area and grade level are comparable to a NYS certificate. In addition to possessing a valid certificate from another state, New York requires the completion of an approved teacher education program that is comparable to New York State requirements or three years of satisfactory teaching experience within the previous seven years under a qualifying certificate in a subject area and grade level comparable to a NYS certificate.

Disclaimer: This guide is for reference only. Final authority regarding acceptability of any specific certificate remains with the New York State Education Department.

States Beginning with the Letter T

Tennessee 2 Apprentice License or Out-of-State Teacher License 5 Years Teacher Yes
2 Special Group License 5 Years Support Services Yes
2 Occupational Education License 5 Years Vocational Yes
3 Professional License 10 Years Teacher Yes
3 Professional School Service Personnel License 10 Years Support Services Yes
3 Professional Occupational Education License 10 Years Vocational Yes
Texas 2 Provisional Life Teacher Yes
2 Provisional Life Vocational Yes
2 Standard 5 Years Teacher Yes
2 Standard  5 Years Vocational Yes
3 Professional  Life Teacher Yes
3 Standard Master Teacher 5 Years Teacher Yes
Last Updated: September 9, 2009