Student Developmental Level -Adolescent Education Grades 7-12 

Acceptable courses include those secondary education courses that would be required in a secondary education major.
Examples include but are not limited to pedagogical content that is primarily focused on:

  • adolescent development
  • adolescent psychology
  • methods of teaching content in the secondary school
  • adolescent literacy
  • curriculum development in the secondary school

Six semester hours (s.h.) must focus exclusively on secondary education.  If you have a NYS electronic College Recommendation that appears in your TEACH account for either a Literacy 5-12 or for an Initial adolescent level (7-12) classroom teaching certificate, you will have met the requirement.

Unacceptable courses include those that focus on:

  • more than one developmental level  such as:
    • life span developmental psychology
    • methods of teaching grades K-12
    • child and adolescent psychology

  • early childhood education, middle level or childhood education

If you need further clarification you should review college catalogs of institutions that offer adolescent grade 7-12 education programs leading to certification to learn about the types of courses that focus on the adolescent developmental level.  New York State colleges that have approved adolescent education programs may be identified by using the Inventory of Registered Programs .

Last Updated: October 23, 2018