Registration (Effective 7/1/2016)

Overview

In March 2016, The NYS Board of Regents adopted a new Subpart, 80-6 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education to implement Chapter 56 of the Laws of 2015 relating to the registration process for holders of Permanent, Professional and level III Teaching Assistant certificates and the establishment of continuing teacher and leader education (CTLE) requirements for Professional and Level III Teaching Assistant certificate holders.

You may reference Subpart 80-6 Registration Requirements for Holders of a Permanent or Professional Certificate in the Classroom Teaching Service and Educational Leadership Service and Holders of a Teaching Assistant Level III Certificate and the Establishment of Continuing Education External Link.

Registration - Effective 7/1/2016

  • Beginning July 1, 2016, any holder of a certificate that is valid for life, must access their TEACH accounts and choose a registration status during the 2016-2017 school year.
  • If a certificate holder holds a Permanent or Professional classroom teacher or educational leadership (i.e., School Administrator/Supervisor, School Building leader, School District leader, School District Administrator, School District Business Leader or School Business Administrator) or a Level III Teaching Assistant certificate, and is practicing in a school district, board of cooperative education services (BOCES) or nonpublic school located in New York State, they are required to access their TEACH account and choose a registration status in their birth month.
  • If you have any questions as to whether Registration or CTLE is required, you may reference the Registration and CTLE Requirements ChartAdobe Acrobat Portable FIle (47KB) . This chart references certificates types, employment status and if Registration and/or CTLE is required.

Definition of Practice

Practicing is defined as employed 90 days or more during a school year by a single applicable school in New York in a position requiring certification. For the purposes of this definition, a day of employment shall include a day actually worked in whole or in part, or a day not actually worked but a day paid.

*Applicable School - is defined as a school district, board of cooperative educational services (BOCES) or nonpublic school that is providing instruction pursuant to Education Law §3204(2) located in New York State.  For purposes of this definition, the City School District of New York and any of its components shall be considered a single school district.  

Newly Certified

Individuals that are issued their first Professional or Teaching Assistant Level III certification starting 7/1/2016 and thereafter with an appropriate certificate requiring registration, will be automatically registered for their initial five-year registration period. The registration period will begin the first day of the month when the certification was issued until the end of the month prior to their birth month in the 5th year.

Example: If the certificate holder receives certification in July 2016 and has a birth date of 05/20, they will be automatically registered upon certification. Their registration will expire 5 years prior to their next birth month (04/30/2022).

*If you have any questions as to whether you are required to meet CTLE requirements, please reference the Registration and CTLE Requirements ChartAdobe Acrobat Portable FIle (47KB).

Registration Status Definitions

  • Registered: This status pertains to those who have completed the registration process.
  • Not Registered: Indicates the certificate holder has not chosen a status (Inactive or Registered).
  • Inactive: Indicates the certificate holder has notified the department that they are not practicing in a school district, BOCES, or nonpublic school that is providing instruction pursuant to Educational Law §3402(2) located in New York State..
  • Application Incomplete: Indicates the certificate holder did not complete the process of choosing a registration status of “Registered” or “Inactive”.

How to Choose a Registration Status

If you have questions about which status you must select, please reference the Registration and CTLE Requirements ChartAdobe Acrobat Portable FIle (47KB).

To Choose “Registered” status:

  • Login to your TEACH account.
  • If it is within 3 months of your birth month, a screen will pop up prompting you to choose a status of "Registered" or "Inactive."
  • If you choose a status of “Registered”, you will be prompted to answer a series of moral character questions. Please answer all questions in their entirety.
  • Once all questions have been answered, please electronically sign the affidavit and click “submit”.
  • The next screen will show your status as “Registered.”  An email confirmation will be sent to you confirming your “Registered” status.

To Choose “Inactive” status:

  • Login to your TEACH account.
  • If it is within 3 months of your birth month, a screen will pop up prompting you to choose a status of "Registered" or "Inactive".
  • If you choose a status of “Inactive”, you will need to click “submit”.
  • The next screen will show your status as “Inactive”.  An email confirmation will be sent to you confirming your “Inactive” status.

Name/Address Change

A Certificate holder must update their address or submit a name change within 30 days of such change. Any certificate holder who fails to inform the Department of changes to their name and or address may be subject to moral character review.

Individuals Certified Prior to 1983
Please note, if you were certified prior to 1983, your certification information may not appear on the TEACH system. If you are unable to find your information in our Certificate Holder Lookup Page, it may need to be researched and entered into the system manually by OTI. Please see the instructions below to request your certification information be researched and entered into the TEACH system:

  • Individuals granted certification prior to 1983 should visit our Certificate Holder Lookup Page to verify that their certification information is available in the TEACH system.

  • If you are unable to locate your name in the TEACH system initially, you may use different methods to widen your search, such as a first, last, maiden name or partial name:
    • Example: partial name using a “%” symbol after such as “Kim%” or “McMill%

  • If your information does not appear when attempting to verify your certification information, that means it was not yet entered into the TEACH online system.

  • If you do not already have a TEACH account, you will need to self-register by creating a username and password, go to TEACH Online System Self Registration.

  • To have your information researched and entered into the TEACH system, you will need to request a Record Search by completing the Record Search Request Form.  
    • A Record Search request will also require a certificate holder to submit copies of any certificates you currently hold and a list of any other certificates you believe you may have had.

Having trouble logging into your TEACH account? Send an email to teachhelp@nysed.gov.

Do you have questions regarding Registration requirements? Send an email to otiregistration@nysed.gov.

Do you have questions regarding CTLE requirements? Send an email to CTLE@nysed.gov.

Last Updated: November 7, 2017