Continuing Teacher and Leader Education (CTLE) Requirement

Educators who hold one or more of the following certificates are subject to the continuing teacher and leader education (CTLE) requirement:

  • Professional certificate in the classroom teaching service
  • Professional certificate in the educational leadership service (i.e., School Building Leader, School District Leader, and School District Business Leader)
  • Teaching Assistant Level III certificate

Examples of educators who do not need to complete the CTLE requirement include, but are not limited to, educators who:

  • Hold only Permanent certificate(s)
  • Hold a Statement of Continued Eligibility (SOCE) and Permanent certificate, and does not also hold a Professional or TA Level III certificate; and
  • Have "Registered - Inactive" status (e.g., not practicing in an applicable school).

The registration and CTLE requirements do not apply to educators who hold a certificate in the pupil personnel service (e.g., School Attendance Teacher, School Counselor, School Psychologist, School Social Worker) or hold a Teaching Assistant Level I or Level II certificate.

There is one CTLE requirement per educator (e.g., 100 clock hours), regardless of the number of certificates held that are subject to CTLE. Educators who are subject to CTLE and practice in an applicable school throughout their five-year registration period must complete 100 clock hours of acceptable CTLE.

Information about CTLE is available through the following links:

Last Updated: June 24, 2021