Certification Requirements - General

  1. Who is required to be fingerprinted?

  2. Do I need a teaching certificate to teach in a private or parochial school?

  3. I would like to complete a degree at a college, but I am not sure if the college is acceptable. How can I be sure?

  4. I’m enrolled in a NYS teacher preparation program. I have heard that I can "waive" the program’s student teaching requirement if the State approves my experience./a>

  5. May I use online courses to meet certification requirements?

  6. May I satisfy the experience requirement with service in a non-public school?

  7. May I satisfy the experience requirement with service in another state or country?

  8. How can I get an adult education certificate?

  9. Does the adult education certificate ever expire?

  10. Where an applicant for the Professional in School Building Leader certificate completed his/her experience as a supervisor of school psychologists in another state, does such experience satisfy the requirement for at least 3 years of school experience in an educational leadership position, in accord with NYS regulation?

    1. Who is required to be fingerprinted?

      All applicants for Certificates, Licensees, or Permits must undergo a fingerprint supported criminal history background check.

      State law requires the State Education Department to conduct these background checks for all school personnel, including applicants for certification, in addition to all prospective employees of school districts, charter schools and boards of cooperative educational services (BOCES).

      The Office of School Personnel Review and Accountability (OSPRA) within the Office of Teaching Initiatives is responsible for monitoring this process. Criminal History Background checks require a $ $91.50 payment, which covers both a NYS Division of Criminal Justice Services search and an FBI review.  For more information contact OSPRA at ospra@mail.nysed.gov.

    2. Do I need a teaching certificate to teach in a private or parochial school?

      Some nonpublic schools may require New York State certification.  Please contact the individual school for this information. top

    3. I would like to complete a degree at a college, but I am not sure if the college is acceptable. How can I be sure?

      In order for the Office of Teaching Initiatives to accept degrees from institutions in states outside New York, the institution must be regionally accredited. To determine whether or not an institution is regionally accredited you may check with the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) http://www.ope.ed.gov/accreditation/Search.asp.   top

    4. I’m enrolled in a NYS teacher preparation program. I have heard that I can "waive" the program’s student teaching requirement if the State approves my experience.

      No, this is not true.  The Office of Teaching Initiatives evaluates experience only for those who apply for a certificate through individual evaluation. In order to receive an evaluation, you must have already have completed your bachelor's degree and submit an Application for Certificate as described above.  Please refer to the Student Teaching page for more information.  top

    5. May I use online courses to meet certification requirements?

      For information regarding distance learning please go to the Distance Learning page.  top

    6. May I satisfy the experience requirement with service in a non-public school?

      Yes, experience in either a public or approved non-public elementary or secondary school is acceptable for purposes of obtaining a Permanent or Professional certificate. top top
       
    7. May I satisfy the experience requirement with service in another state or country?

      Yes, experience in either a public or non-public elementary or secondary school is acceptable for purposes of obtaining a Permanent or Professional certificate. top top

    8. How can I get an adult education certificate?

      If you hold NYS teacher certification, you do not need an adult education certificate. If you are not a NYS certified teacher, the first step is to gain a commitment of employment in a school district as an adult education teacher. You must then apply online for an Adult Education certificate, and pay the application fee of $50. The school district must submit a superintendent statement online through the TEACH system. You must complete the child abuse identification and school violence prevention workshops, and apply for fingerprint clearance. No transcripts are required. top top
       
    9. Does the adult education certificate ever expire?

      Yes. It must be renewed every three years by submitting the same application indicated above and a $25 renewal fee. If not already completed, you must complete the child abuse identification and school violence prevention workshops, and apply for fingerprint clearance. top top
       
    10. Where an applicant for the Professional in School Building Leader certificate completed his/her experience as a supervisor of school psychologists in another state, does such experience satisfy the requirement for at least 3 years of school experience in an educational leadership position, in accord with NYS regulation?

      Yes. NYS regulations include supervisor as an authorized position within the pupil personnel services in satisfaction of the requirements for the school building leader title. top top
Last Updated: March 4, 2013