Student Developmental Level - Middle Childhood Grades 5-9

Acceptable courses include those middle school education courses that would be required in a middle school education major.
Examples include but are not limited to pedagogical content that is primarily focused on:

  • middle level curriculum development
  • methods of teaching in middle school
  • interdisciplinary middle level curriculum standards
  • assessment  of the intellectual, social and physical development of all young adolescents
  • early adolescent psychology

Six semester hours (s.h.) must focus exclusively on the middle level education.
Unacceptable courses include those that focus on:

  • more than one developmental level such as
    • life span developmental psychology
    • methods of teaching grades K-12
    • child and adolescent psychology
  • early childhood, childhood or secondary education
Last Updated: May 15, 2015