Student Developmental Level - Early Childhood Education Birth – Grade 2

Acceptable courses include those early childhood education courses that would be required in an early childhood education major.
Examples include but are not limited to pedagogical content that is primarily focused on:

  • methods and strategies for assessing and teaching young children (ages 0-7)
  • literacy development for young children (emergent literacy)
  • early childhood curriculum and instruction in content
  • approaches to teaching and learning in grades pre-K through Grade 2
  • managing the early childhood classroom
  • early childhood development for diverse learners

Six semester-hours (s.h.) must focus exclusively on early childhood education. If you have a NYS electronic College Recommendation that appears in your TEACH account for a Literacy birth-Grade 6 certificate, you will be credited with the requirement.

Unacceptable courses include those that focus on:

  • more than one developmental level  such as
    • life span developmental psychology
    • methods of teaching grades K-12
    • child and adolescent psychology

  • middle level, elementary or secondary education

If you need further clarification you should review college catalogs of institutions that offer early childhood education programs leading to certification to learn about the types of courses that focus on the early childhood developmental level.  New York State colleges that have approved early childhood education programs may be identified by using the Inventory of Registered Programs .

Last Updated: October 22, 2015