Student Developmental Level Childhood Education Grades 1-6

Acceptable courses include those elementary education courses that would be required in an elementary education major.
Examples include but are not limited to pedagogical content that is primarily focused on:

  • methods of teaching in the elementary school
  • literacy instruction in the elementary school
  • child psychology courses if they focus only on childhood 1-6 education

Six semester-hours (s.h.) must focus exclusively on childhood education.
Unacceptable courses include those that focus on:

  • more than one developmental level  such as
    • life span developmental psychology
    • methods of teaching grades K-12
    • child and adolescent psychology
  • secondary, middle level or early childhood education
  • children’s literature, child development and child psychology courses that focus on all grade levels.
Last Updated: May 15, 2015