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TO: Chief Executive Officers of Degree-Granting Institutions in New York State.

FROM: Donald J. Nolan M M

SUBJECT: Academic and Student Financia istance Regulations

The purpose of this memorandum is to provide information about recent changes
in Education Law and subsequent amendments to the Regulations of the Commissioner
of Education relating to the Aid for Part-Time Study (APTS) program and to TAP
eligibility for accelerated study. In addition, the memorandum provides clarification on
existing regulatory requirements regarding full-time study and institutional academic
calendars in the context of student financial aid.

L. Aid for Part-Time Study Program

In December 1990, the Legislature enacted and the Governor signed into law
amendments to section 666 of the Education Law on the Aid for Part-Time Study
program. Chapter 947 of the Laws of 1990 modified the APTS program, effective
April 1, 1990, as noted below. Many campuses may already be administering the
program based on these revised requirements.

- The requirement that a student have earned 6 prior credits has been eliminated.

- For semester calendars, the definition of part-time student for this program has
been revised to require enrollment for at least 3 but less than 12 semester hours.
However, the definition for quarter/trimester calendars remains as enrollment for
at least 4 but less than 8 semester hours in a quarter/trimester.

-- The income ceiling for dependent students has been increased from $22,000 to
$50,550 net taxable income.

- A new eligibility category of independent students with tax dependents has been
added and an income ceiling established at $50,550.
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-- The income ceiling for single independent students has been increased from $15,000
to $34,250 net taxable income.

- The deadline for reporting award recipients has been changed from 21 to 45 days
after the end of the institution’s drop/add period.

The change in the definition of part-time student required a corresponding
change in the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education. The Regulations
define part-time study as enrollment for at least 6 but less than 12 semester hours
or at least 4 but less than 8 semester hours in a quarter. This definition remains
unchanged for general and academic performance awards. In the amended
regulation, the Aid for Part-Time Study program is excepted from this definition.
Matriculated students enrolling for as few as 3 semester hours are eligible to apply
for an APTS award. Appendix A contains excerpts from section 666 of Education
Law and section 145-2.1(a) of the Regulations, as amended.

(Note: Institutions interested in receiving a copy of the Regents 1990 annual Report
to the Governor and the L egislature on the Aid for Part-Time Study Program can
request one from the Office of Higher and Continuing Education, 5 B 28, Cultural
Education Center, Albany, New York 12230.)

IL TAP _Eligibility for Accelerated Study!

If a student enrolls in full-time study beyond the regular program of study
for the academic year, Education Law permits an additional Tuition Assistance
Program (TAP) award payment, over and above the annual award, for accelerated
study. Prior to a change in statute, payment for accelerated study was limited to
the summer term. To be eligible for payment of an accelerated award, a student
was required to enroll full-time in the preceding spring or subsequent fall term.
This requirement now applies only in the case of half-time awards for terms that
are not part of the regular academic year.

Chapter 589 of the Laws of 1988 amended sections 602 and 665 of the
Education Law, effective July 1, 1989, to delete the specific references to summer.
As a result, an award for accelerated study is no longer restricted to the summer,
nor is summer considered only as an accelerated term. Simply put, an accelerated
term is now any third full-time semester in a semester calendar year or any fourth
Quarter/trimester in a quarter/trimester calendar year. With summer no longer

'The proposed executive budget for 1991-92 recommends eliminating awards for

accelerated study. However, since the budget is not yet final, the Department is providing
this information.
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treated solely as an accelerated term, a student may enroll full time in a summer
term when that term is part of the regular academic year and be eligible for
payment even if the student does not enroll in an adjacent term. For example, if
an institution’s regular academic year consists of fall, spring, and summer terms, a
student can receive an award for enrollment in the summer term only, since

summer is part of the regular academic year.

In" addition to payment for full-time accelerated study, Education Law also
makes special provision for students to receive one-half of a full-time TAP award
for less than full-time study when such study is beyond the regular program for the
academic year. However, to be cligible for this half-time accelerated payment,
students must enroll full time in the preceding or subsequent term. For example,
a student enrolled for at least six semester hours in a term of accelerated study
must have been enrolled full time in the prior term or enroll full time in the
subsequent term.

Eligibility for awards for accelerated study does not increase a student’s
maximum award entitlement under TAP (or STAP); TAP is limited pursuant to
section 667 (2) of Education Law to four years at the undergraduate level (or five
years for opportunity programs or programs of study approved and registered by
the State Education Department as normally requiring five years to complete) and
four years at the graduate level.

Section 145-2.9 of The Regulations of the Commissioner of Education has
been amended to conform with statute, Appendix B contains an excerpt from
section 665 of Education Law and the text of section 145-2.9 of Commissioner’s

Regulations, as amended.

Full-Time Study and Academic Calendar

In discussions with college administrators, the Department has found that
there is confusion about the requirements that define a student’s full-time status
which are separate from the requirements that define a full-time program. There
are also distinct requirements that define term length and semester hour.

To be full time for financial aid purposes, a student must enroll for at least
12 semester hours in a semester. In addition to that requirement, the student must
be enrolled in a program that is offered on a full-time basis. A program is offered
on a full-time basis when a student can complete the program in the normal time
for the particular degree level. For example, a four-year baccalaureate degree must
be capable of being completed in four years. Since Regulations define a
baccalaureate degree as consisting of at least 120 semester hours, required courses
must be scheduled so that students are able to complete at least 15 hours a
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semester or 30 hours a year in order for students to be able to complete the degree
in four academic years. Thus, while a baccalaureate program which limits students
to 12 semester hours in a semester--perhaps an evening or weekend program--
would permit a student to satisfy the full-time study requirement, the program itself
would not be a full-time program because a student could not enroll for 15
semester hours, the minimum necessary in order for the student to be able to
complete a, four-year degree in the normal time. For financial aid eligibility, the
two conditions of full-time student and full-time program must be met.

Confusion also exists regarding the separate requirements for term length and
semester hour. In order to certify students for State awards, an institution must
operate on a calendar that conforms to Section 145-2.1 (a) of Commissioner’s
Regulations. This section defines full-time study for financial aid purposes as
enrollment for at least 12 semester hours in a semester of not less than 15 weeks
inclusive of examination periods. An institution that operates on a calendar in
which a semester, inclusive of examination periods, consists of fewer than 15 weeks .
(or in which a quarter/trimester consists of fewer than 10 weeks) is not in
compliance with this regulation. In such cases, a college that certifies students for
State financial assistance can be held liable for repayment of the funds which its
students received.

Section 50.1(0) of Commissioner’s Regulations defines a semester hour as
a credit or other unit awarded for the completion of 15 fifty-minute hours of
instruction and 30 hours of supplemental assignments. While a semester hour of
credit can be awarded for 15 hours of course work offered in a variety of time
configurations, only a 15-week semester satisfies the durational requirement of
section 145-2.1(a) of Regulations.

An institution considering an atypical academic calendar or term structure
should contact the State Education Department before implementation.

College administrators wishing additional information or clarification should
feel free to contact Ms. Jeremy Weis at (518) 474-2593.

Action Required: For Your Information

cc:  Vice President for Academic Affairs
Financial Aid Administrator
Registr.r
TAP Certifying Officer




APPENDIX A

EDUCATION LAW

Section 666(1)

1. Definition. For the purposes of this section (a) "part-time student" means a
student enrolled for at least [six] three but less than twelve semester hours, or the
equivalent, per semester or at least four but less than eight semester hours per quarter

in an approved undergraduate degree or registered certificate program in a degree-granting
institution...

The Regulations of the Commissioner of Education

Section 145-2.1  Full-time and part-time study and remedial workload. (a) For

programs at degree-granting institutions which measure study in terms of credit hours or.

a comparable measure, the following definitions shall apply:

(1) For State student financial aid programs, except the supplemental tuition
assistance program (STAP), full-time study, where required by law, shall mean enrollment
for at least 12 semester hours for a semester of not less than 15 weeks, inclusive of
examination periods; or eight semester hours a quarter; or, in programs not organized on
a seémester or quarter basis, 24 semester hours for an academic year of not more than 12
months or the equivalent, as determined by the Commissioner. A student shall be
considered full-time for a program organized on an academic-year basis only if the student
has filed a plan of study with the institution for the entire academic year. Part-time study,
for general awards, other than tuition awards for Vietnam veterans and tuition awards for
part-time undergraduate students, and for academic performance awards, shall mean
enrollment for at least 6, but less than 12, semester hours or the equivalent for a semester
of not less than 15 weeks, inclusive of examination periods; or at least four, but less than
eight, semester hours a quarter....

(Note: Material underscored is new; material in brackets is omitted.)




APPENDIX B

EDUCATION LAW

Section 665 (2)

Payment for accelerated [summer] study. a. If the student enrolls [in full-time
accelerated summer study, as defined by the commissioner pursuant to article thirteen,)
for a term of study which shall be beyond the regular program of study for the academic
year, an additional award shall be made for each such [summer period] term of study on

the basis of an equivalent full semester, quarter or term of attendance during the regular
academic year.

b. If the student enrolls in a [program] term of accelerated study [during any

summer period] as described in paragraph a of this subdivision constituting less than the
equivalent of a full semester, quarter or term of attendance, but at least half of the
minimum of such full-time program, as defined by the commissioner pursuant to article
thirteen, the award for such [summer period] term of study shall be one-half of the award

that would otherwise have been received for full-time study. The total period of study

for which payment may be made shall not exceed the equivalent of the maximum period
- authorized for that award. In the case of awards under subdivision four of section six
hundred sixty-seven, the base award shall be the lesser of (i) [seven hundred fifty dollars
or, commencing July first, nineteen hundred seventy-eight and in the case of any student
receiving aid under this article for the first time during nineteen hundred seventy-seven-
nineteen hundred seventy-eight or thereafter, nine hundred dollars:] one-half of the
amount of the award provided for or (ii) the amount of tuition, and the deduction shall
be at one-half the rate that would otherwise apply to full-time study.

The Regulations of the Commissioner of Education .

Section 145-2.9 Accelerated [summer] study. (a) To be eligible to receive payment
for [summer] accelerated study beyond the regular program of study for the academic vyear,
except for part-time awards pursuant to Education Law, section 666, or for Vietnam
veterans tuition awards pursuant to Education Law, section 669-a, a student shall, during
the regular academic year, be a full-time student matriculated in an approved program in
a school in this State, unless [part-time or] out-of-state study is approved during the
regular academic year. For the purposes of this section, all attendance during a single
summer period, including intersessions, shall be considered to constitute a single [semester]
term of attendance. To be eligible for an award for half-time accelerated study, a student
shall be a full-time student during the preceding or succeeding term.

(b) Accelerated [summer] study shall denote study which meets the following
criteria:

y




' (1) The [summer] term [must] of study shall be a separately organizéd term in
addition to the regular school year, with separate registration and separate charge for
tuition and fees.

(2) Accelerated study [must] shall be accompanied by accelerated tuition charges,
so that the total tuition charge upon completion of the accelerated program is comparable
to the total tuition charge for the nonaccelerated program.
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