


0 We've targeted six potential
problem areas within the TAP
program.

0 High School Diploma

Tlme tO 0 Residency

0 Declaration of Major

C hange 0 Remedial Students

0 Repeat Courses

Things
Up

0 Good Academic Standing




Let's Chat

0 Break into 6 groups to discuss on topic each.

0 What do we want to accomplish?
- Why is it difficult to maintain compliance?
- What about it makes it a problem area?
- What are some strategies you have in place, or

you can think of, that would end the
possibility of non-compliance on your
campus?




High School Diploma

(or it’s equivalent)

Certificate of graduation or high school diploma must be
from a secondary school that is recognized, authorized or
approved by the state educational entity having
jurisdiction;

A prior degree;

24 semester hour credits earned at an accredited
institution in the appropriate distribution to qualify for a
high school equivalency diploma pursuant to the
Regulations of the Commissioner of Education (6 credits
in English Language arts, 3 credits each in the Humanities,
Natural Sciences, Mathematics, and Social Sciences, and 6
additional credits applicable to the student’s program);
Appropriate documentation from the local school district
of completion of high school requirements through home
schooling; or

A GED test score certificate showing passing scores.




Residency

0 Education Law (Section 661-5)
requires a student to be a legal
resident of the state of New York in
order to be eligible for Tuition
Assistance Program (TAP), and most
other state scholarships and other
awards. A New York court decision
defined “residence” as the equivalent
of “domicile” as it is used in the statute.
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Declaration of
Major

Students enrolled in two-year
academic programs leading to
associate degrees must declare a major
no later than within 30 days of the end
of the institution’s add /drop period in

the first term of their sophomore year.

Students enrolled in four-year i s
academic programs leading to

baccalaureate degrees must declare a

major no later than within 30 days of

the institution’s add /drop period in the

first term of their junior year.




Remedial Students

0 Remedial Student- Is defined as a student: (A) whose
scored on a recognized college placement exam or
nationally recognized standardized exam indicate the
need for remediation for at least two semesters, as
certified by the college and approved by the New York
State Education department (SED); or (B) who was
enrolled in at least six semester hours of non-credit
remedial courses, as approved by SED, in the first
term they received a TAP award; or (C) who is or was
enrolled in an opportunity program

0 (HESC Financial Aid Services Bulletin 2011-005, 1).




Repeat Courses

0 A student can repeat a course and have the course count as
part of the minimum full-time or part-time course load for
financial aid purposes when the student did not previously
earn credit for the course.

0 A student who receives an F or a W in a course does not
earn credit; therefore, courses in which F or W grades have
been earned can be repeated and count towards full-time
or part-time study requirements.

0 Exceptions...




Good Academic Standing

0 POP

0 POP: completion requirement-
completing/getting a grade in
a percentage of the minimum
full-time course load in each

term an award is received.

0 SAP

0 SAP: measure of the student’s

achievement, of earning
credits toward a degree or
certificate with a specified
grade point average. Pursuit
of program is a measure of
the student’s effort to
complete a program.

0 Credit Accrual and
GPA requirements

When students don’t succeed...THE APPEAL

PROCESS.




Compliance through
Communication and Collaboration

0 Each campus is different: look at yours - is it
designed for success?

0 Getting the TAP Certifying Officer out of the dark
0 Getting other offices on board




What does this mean to your
campus?

0 The academic side of the house isn’t usually aware of
the implications on aid.

0 Does your academic policy different than the state
policy and, if so, how do you handle?

0 Is this responsibility on one individual?
0 State aid has strict standards, are they being applied?
0 How is it communicated internally and externally?




Number Games

0 We are put in the middle often- our inclination is to
want to help people get through college but to ensure
continued eligibility for all of our students we must
follow the law.

0 One award for one student or a huge fine?




Legislative Changes

LA A

0 Whose responsibility is it?
0 Communication with TAP Certifying Officer, Campus
Staff, Students.

0 Having a procedure in place for when things change

0 2010 legislative changes to the TAP program...

0 October 2013 recommendation to program changes
occurring 14-15.




Questions?




Thank you for Attending!

0 Shalena Duprey - sduprey@nccc.edu
NYSFAAA Executive Council Representative Region 8

0 Kristina Delbridge- kdelbridge@esc.edu
NYSFAAA Executive Council Representative Region 4

We encourage you to reach out to the contacts you’ve
made during this training.
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